Tue 18 Jan 2022م 02032497000 sacbuk@uk.moe.gov.sa

Main Cities

Riyadh is the capital city of Saudi Arabia.

Makkah and Madinah, Islam’s two holiest cities, are located in Saudi Arabia. Makkah is the birthplace of the Prophet Muhammad and the focal point of Hajj, the Islamic pilgrimage in which almost two million Muslims from all parts of the world participate every year. Madinah is the city where Prophet Muhammad emigrated and lived.

Riyadh, located in the central province, is the capital city of Saudi Arabia. It is also the high-tech center of modern Saudi Arabia and houses the headquarters of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC).

Jeddah, located along the eastern coast of the Red Sea, is the commercial capital of Saudi Arabia, and serves as an entrance to the rest of the peninsula. Jeddah’s ports hence become the main thoroughfares for trade.


Dammam is about 400 km away from Riyadh. It is the capital of the Eastern region and a very important port. It was a separate small town but now it has become one big town, linking Al-Khobar and Al-Dhahran. Dammam is now a major commercial center. It is one of the nation’s chief ports, serving as a major exporting point for petroleum and natural gas.
The twin cities of Jubail and Yanbu are a symbol of the government’s vision of Saudi Arabia’s future development.

Jubail lies on the Arabian Gulf in the Eastern Province of the Kingdom. It is located 80 kilometers north of Dammam, and is an ancient center and caravan junction famous for pearling. It has the world’s largest petrochemical complex.

Yanbu is located on the East Coast of the Red Sea about 350 kilometers north-west of Jeddah. It houses the Directorate General of the Royal Commission for Jubail & Yanbu. It is a typical industrial fortress and a work of art in architectural engineering.